Is our day job more than self-slavery?
When we’re locked watching the clock impatiently.
We sweat for the dollar bills, the checks and the credit cards.
But the dollar kills, breaks the necks of our inner hearts
.

Epik High-

Money always become an issue for everyone and being a designer is not the best way to become a millionaire. People always thought that designer makes a lot of money and that’s true, for a famous designer. The fact is, new designers or fresh graduates won’t make much. The dilemma is we need money to survive.

Recently, I’m reading ‘How to Think Like a Great Graphic Designer’ by Debbie Millman and I have to say that this book is a good read. When I was reading Milton Glaser part, I’m shocked or I should say it’s more like I’m amazed. It’s not because of how great is he as a designer (obviously, he’s a freaking awesome designer) but because he was making $65/week when he worked at Push Pin. When I read that, I was like, ‘WHAAAATTTT? How the hell did you survive that?’

For me, work
was about survival. I had to work in order to have
any sense of being human.

Milton Glaser-

Those words made me realize of why am I doing design, of why did I choose design at the college.

Did I choose design because of the money?

No.

Then why?

Because I love it.

It’s simple yet I need a lot of time to figure that out. So, who cares if I don’t make a million in a month? Who cares if my parents told me that I deserve more money than what I already have? I do things that I like and I’m happy and on top of that, I’m paid to do that. Isn’t that just what people always dream of?

My job isn’t a self-slavery. I don’t watch the clock impatiently, I even want to add more hours so that I could work more. I don’t sweat because of the dollar bills, checks or credit cards. I do my job because I love it. And that’s enough for me.

